Crockpot Chili

So apparently my friends think we eat chili all the time.  We really don’t (just every couple of weeks, although the left overs do last us a few days), but I update my Facebook status every time I make it because the yummy smell just infuses the house, and I can’t help but post.  I have had a few requests for the recipe, so I decided to post it here.  I actually found the recipe online (at About.com), but I have altered it to fit our tastes.  (I don’t have a picture to share as usual.  Next time I make chili, I will add a picture.)

Ingredients:
2 lbs ground chuck
1 small onion, chopped
1 medium green pepper, chopped
1 large (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes
2 small (8 oz) cans of tomato sauce (if you like it to be thick rather than a little soupy, only use 1 can)
2 cans kidney or pinto beans, drained (I have actually been using 1 of each)
1 tsp pepper
3 tsp chili powder (I am thinking of reducing this because I don’t really like spicy food)
cayenne, to taste (I am thinking of eliminating this one entirely for the same reason as above)
1 tsp garlic salt

Preparation:
1.  In a large skillet, saute 1/2 the onions and green peppers for a minute or two.  Add 1 lb of the ground beef and brown.  Dump into the crockpot and repeat with the rest of the onions, green peppers, and ground beef.  (You can do this all together if you have a large enough skillet, but I don’t).
2.  Combine the remaining ingredients into the crockpot.  I stir well to make sure the spices get mixed in well.
3.  Cover and cook on low for 7 to 8 hours, or until done.

I serve with shredded  cheddar and sour cream, if we have it, and corn bread muffins.  I am looking for a good corn bread recipe if anyone has one (or a way to modify the Jiffy mix).  I have not been happy with my results (after following the box instructions) lately.

Let me know how you like it.  Enjoy the deliciousness that will infuse your house.

1 Comment

  1. Jennifer H

    Thanks Erika, we look forward to trying it out!!

Leave a Reply

