Baked Three-Cheese Macaroni Recipe

I grew up on Kraft Mac & Cheese; the one with the powdered cheese.  I love this stuff.  I don’t know why, but it is the best.  I didn’t start trying homemade Mac & Cheese until I met my husband.  His friend’s grandmother makes some amazing Mac & Cheese.  However, she is one of those cooks who can just throw something together – she does not have a recipe to give me :(.  So I made it my mission to find my husband a homemade Mac & Cheese recipe that I could make and like.  I tried several, but they all had eggs in them and that just did not look good to me, and I didn’t like having the scrambled egg in with my Mac & Cheese.  I just couldn’t get it to work.  Then I bought this beginner’s cook book (I believe it is a Better Homes and Gardens).  I found a Mac & Cheese that is easy and tastes great.  I was so excited.  Try it for yourself and let me know what you think.

Ingredients:
1 1/3 cups dried macaroni or penne (6 ounces) – I used gemelli once and it worked well also.
3/4 cup milk
2 tablespoons butter or margarine
1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 ounces American cheese, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese (4 ounces) – I used mild a couple of times.
1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (1 ounce)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F. In a 3-quart saucepan cook macaroni according o package directions; drain and return to saucepan. Add milk, butter, pepper, and salt to saucepan; stir in American cheese, cheddar cheese, and mozzarella cheese. Transfer the macaroni mixture to a greased 1 1/2-quart casserole.

2. Bake, uncovered, in the preheated oven for 15 minutes; stir gently. Bake about 5 minutes more or until just heated through (don’t overheat or mixture will curdle). Let stand for 10 minutes before serving. Makes 4 main-dish servings.

1 Comment

  1. lailablogs

    sounds delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

Leave a Reply

