A Great Lasagna Recipe

So I think I am somewhat “kitchen challenged.”  I have a hard time deciding what to cook and have a hard time trying new things.  One of my goals is to create a recipe book with 2-4 weeks worth of recipes that I can just recycle every 2-4 weeks. No more Sunday afternoons trying to lay out a menu and create a grocery list for the week.  It will already be there (with room to revise).  There are a few recipes that I have come across that have been instant winners.  One of them is Lasagna.  I got this recipe from a coworker a few years ago.  It is one of the few things that I will eat leftover (I have a problem with leftovers too).  Ben and I can live off 1 pan of this Lasagna for 5-6 meals (just toss some of it into the freezer).  I have tried cutting the recipe in half so that it can be fresh more often, but haven’t been successful with that yet (I think I didn’t bake it quite long enough – do you change baking instructions when cutting recipes?).  Another reason that I like this recipe is that it is quick to put together (the night before) and then you just bake it the next day.  The recipe is below.  I would love to hear how it works for you.  If you have any suggestions for this “kitchen challenged” girl, I would love to hear them.

Lasagna

Ingredients:
40+ oz spaghetti sauce (I get the biggest jar of Kroger brand I can)
1 lb ground beef
1 box of lasagna noodles (1 box usually makes me 3-4 Lasagnas)
1 small ricotta cheese
1/2 cup parmesan cheese (I have started to use shredded Parmesan – a whole small bag – about 1-1/2 cups)
16 oz bag mozzarella cheese

Assembly Instructions:
Brown and drain ground beef
Mix spaghetti sauce and ground beef
Spread 1/2 of beef/sauce mix in the bottom of 9×13 pan
Add layer of noodles
Add layer of ricotta cheese
Add 1/4 c of parmesan cheese (1/2 bag if used the shredded parmesan)
Add layer of mozzarella cheese
Add remaining beef/sauce mix
Add layer of noodlesAdd layer of ricotta cheese
Add 1/4 c of parmesan cheese (1/2 bag if used the shredded parmesan)
Add layer of mozzarella cheese
Cover and refrigerate overnight

Baking Instructions:
Poor 3/4 to 1 c of water over lasagna
Cover with foil
Bake at 325 degrees for 60 minutes
Remove foil and bake for 20 minutes
I usually end up setting the oven on broil for a couple of minutes to brown the cheese on top

Enjoy!

1 Comment

  1. lailablogs

    sounds really delicious .. love all the veriety of cheese used in it ….. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

Leave a Reply

