Shutter Sisters: Before, After, and Beyond

Shutter Sisters wants to see our edits (see their post here).  I try to do as much as I can in-camera, but there are some things that I do to improve most every image, and sometimes, there are things that I will do to dramatically improve an image.  I use Photoshop Elements 4.0 (for the Mac).

shuttersistersFor all my images, I check out the auto levels, auto contrast, and the auto color correction.  If I don’t like what PSE does, then I cancel it or tweak it a little until I see what looks right.  I also do an unsharp to help with the sharpness.  For the above image, I did something that I have never done before.  Although I got a good shallow depth of field through the camera, it didn’t quite have the impact that I wanted.  So I used the Radial Blur in PSE.  It took me a few tries to get the “center” in the correct place, but it definitely gave me the impact that I was searching for.

shuttersisters2For the above image, I did my same “normal” steps as address above.  However, this image surprised me with how much dust I have on my sensor (I guess I need to look into getting that cleaning soon).  To get rid of all of the junk was a long process of using the Spot Healing Tool in PSE to go through the whole image and fix each spot individually.  However, I think it was worth it because I just loved the image (even before I did some of the corrections).

Well, there is a look into my process.  I want to say congratulations to the Shutter Sisters for winning the Name Your Dream Assignment Contest sponsored by Microsoft and Lenovo with their Picture Hope project.

Thanks for reading.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Thank You Shutter Sisters « {Through My Lens}

    Leave a Reply

