One Little Word 2010 – Balance

I have been participating in Ali Edward’s One Little Word since 2007 (this year’s post is here and here).  In 2007 my word was SIMPLE, 2008 was FOCUS, and 2009 was FOCUS again.  I still feel like these words are important to what I want in life, as well as important components of the word that I have chosen for 2009.  I haven’t been very good in the past about really doing anything with my one little word.  I hope this year to flesh out the idea a little better and really make an effort to make my one little word visible in my daily life.

The last several months I have felt like I have been putting fires out, trying to keep up, get things done just before a deadline, just plain feeling like I was a few steps behind and never moving forward, especially this past week.  I have felt like there are areas in my life that aren’t getting the attention they deserve.  These are areas that I feel are important and should have a place in my daily life.  The areas that I want to learn to BALANCE this year include: my marriage, my relationship with the Lord, my house, my finances, my photography, my friends, my health, work, and school.  Instead of getting stuck on getting through an immediate need, I want to find a BALANCE where I am spending time every day/week/month FOCUSing on these areas and SIMPLEfying life (even in these areas) so that the BALANCE can happen (I don’t know if I have explained that right).

Two of the definitions (from Dictionary.com) for BALANCE that I like are:

    1. a state of equilibrium or equipoise; equal distribution of weight, amount, etc.
    3. mental steadiness or emotional stability; habit of calm behavior, judgment, etc.

I don’t necessarily want to spend equal time on everything.  That is just not possible.  I can’t spend 8 hours a day working or studying and expect to be able to spend 8 hours on my photography (although I would rather spend more time on photography than on work or school), but I also can’t expect to spend 5 hours studying and 7 hours working and find the time to spend time on my health or photography or with Ben.  I want to spend the year finding a way to find an equilibrium in my life that will allow me to spend the right amount of time needed on each of my important areas.  Then, by finding that equilibrium (BALANCE), I will find that the stress level and the emotional roller coasters (my mental and emotional states) will also find a BALANCE.  I want to find the emotional and mental BALANCE as well as the BALANCE in activity.

Ok.  I think I am just rambling now.  I wanted to get something in print to help me start working through what  I want 2010 to look like and what I want to get out of the year to come, something the FOCUS on and remind me of the life that I want to build this year.  I was going to try and figure out a way to illustrate BALANCE with a photograph today, but I just couldn’t think of anything.  Then I thought I just need to keep it SIMPLE and not to force something that wasn’t there.  So, unless something miraculously comes to my mind, there is not photograph, just a post to help me flesh out my one little word: BALANCE.

I would love to hear from you in the comments below if you choose to participate in the One Little Word challenge.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

